By donation

Date & Time Details: January 21st 2020 - Losar 8am - 9am Pacific Time

Email us about program

Valid Cognition Course with Geshe Sonam

With Geshe Sonam

January 21, 2021

Winter Pramana Study
Valid Cognition Course with Geshe Sonam

Thursdays Mornings for One Hour Starting December 10th*

8am San Francisco / 11am New York / 4pm London

*Due to the holidays, classes will not be held on 12/24 or 12/31

What is Valid Cognition?
What are reliable Ways of Knowing?

Study Buddhist logic and epistemology to understand how mind knows, (in Sanskrit, Pramana or in Tibetan, tshad ma) and identify how wrong knowledge causes cyclic suffering. This is the study of a classic text on Valid Cognition, the Pramanavaritika, translated into English by Geshe Sonam.

Register Once, Attend Any/All Classes

DONATIONS WELCOME ~ NO ONE TURNED AWAY DUE TO LACK OF FUNDS

Teacher

Geshe Sonam
After doing his primary education, Geshe Ngawang Sonam joined Sera Monastic University in 1995 to devote his life to intensive study and practice of Buddhism.  In 2008, he was selected by the Office of His Holiness the Dalai Lama to become one of the English translators for His Holiness the Dalai Lama. Since then, he has accompanied His Holiness to various places in India and to around nine countries around the world. Following his more than twenty years of intensive monastic studies on the five major treatises of Buddhism, and upon clearing all the six successive years of examination, in…
Learn more about Geshe Sonam